Skip to content.
HEA logo ADM logo

about the higher education academy


In February 2002, The Teaching Quality Enhancement Committee (TQEC) was established by the HEFCE, Universities UK (UUK) and GuildHE (previously known as SCOP) to review the arrangements for supporting the enhancement of quality in learning and teaching in higher education.

The TQEC published an interim report in September 2002 and submitted its final report in January 2003 (shortly after the Government's White Paper). The report proposed the creation of a single, central body to support the enhancement of learning and teaching in higher education - the Higher Education Academy.

The Higher Education Academy (HEA) was formed in May 2004 from a merger of the Institute for Learning and Teaching in Higher Education (ILTHE), the Learning and Teaching Support Network (LTSN), and the TQEF National Co-ordination Team (NCT).

For more information about the Higher Education Academy, visit

The Subject Network

Up until July 2011, the Higher Education Academy provided discipline-based support through a Subject Network of 24 Subject Centres. These were a mix of single-site and consortium-based centres located within relevant subject departments and hosted by higher education institutions.

Each centre engaged in a wide variety of activities to support practitioners, subject departments and discipline communities. From August 2011 many Subject Centres began a process of closure with funding from the HEA to cover a transition period. The ADM-HEA's transition funding period ends on 31 March 2011.

The following is a list of all 24 Subject Centres:

Art Design Media
Built Environment (CEBE)
Business, Management, Accountancy and Finance (BMAF)
Education (ESCALATE)
Geography, Earth and Environmental Sciences (GEES)
Health Sciences and Practice
History, Classics and Archaeology
Hospitality, Leisure, Sport and Tourism (HLST)
Information and Computer Sciences
Languages, Linguistics and Area Studies (LLAS)
Law (UK Centre for Legal Education - UKCLE)
Materials (UK Centre for Materials Education)
Maths, Stats & OR Network (MSOR)
Medicine, Dentistry and Veterinary Medicine (MEDEV)
PALATINE - Dance, Drama and Music
Philosophical and Religious Studies
Physical Sciences
Sociology, Anthropology and Politics (C-SAP)
Social Policy and Social Work (SWAP)